Bristol Concert Orchestra with Julia Hwang - 15 March at St George's Bristol

Profile image for BCO_orchestra

By BCO_orchestra at 17:57 on 18/02/14

0 comments... add your comments below

Bristol Concert Orchestra • Julia Hwang (violin) • Stefan Hofkes (conductor)

R Strauss: Don Juan
Bruch: Violin Concerto No 1
Schubert: Symphony No 8 "Unfinished"
J Strauss II: Frühlingsstimmen (Voices of Spring)

Richard Strauss' Don Juan leaps off the page from the first line of the music, which inside 17 minutes exposes flirtations, affairs, a tender love scene, and ultimately ends in a death duel!

Next up, Bruch's hugely popular Violin Concerto No 1 is loved worldwide and the incredibly talented Julia Hwang is set to enchant us with its beautiful melodies in this performance.

The "Unfinished" Symphony by Schubert comprises two sublime movements: a glorious Allegro moderato and a heartbreaking Andante con moto. The mystery of why Schubert didn't complete this wonderful work has never been solved.

The concert concludes with some Viennese spring joy in the shape of Johann Strauss' delightful Frühlingsstimmen.

There will be a retiring collection in aid of The National Osteoporosis Society.

Tickets £15, £13, £10, £8 (concessions £2 discount), children £1 are available online at

or from St George's Bristol in person, by phone: 0845 40 24 001 or online

Date: Saturday, March 15, 2014

Event Location



max 4000 characters

Local Jobs


Search for...

Min price is bigger than Max price
Min price is bigger than Max price
Min rent is bigger than Max rent